Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS)

I have poly cystic ovarian syndrome also known as PCOS. I first learned that I have it when I was 18. For almost 4 months, my menstruation is not normal it is either I am spotting for weeks or none at all. I got worried so I consulted my physician and she referred us to an ob-gynecologist. I got my first ever pelvic ultrasound and with that, she said I have PCOS and she prescribed birth control pills. I took it for a year and it regulated my menstruation. Currently, I stopped taking the pills already for some reasons.

Even with or without PCOS we should be living a healthy lifestyle. However with us, it is actually a MUST. We do gain weight easily so we have to control what we eat. We also have to exercise for at least 30 minutes everyday. According to the articles that I read, it would be hard for us to conceive. I worry about that of course, but based on my latest ultrasound my gynecologist told me that I am ovulating so hopefully it wouldn’t be hard when my partner and I decided that it is time.

There is nothing to worry about PCOS. We just have to educate ourselves so that we’ll understand everything that is happening to our body. Of course, we should also ask our ob-gynecologist when we have questions. I’ll be sharing the result of my latest pelvic ultrasound which was done last August 2015.

Blog about my PCOS symptoms. Check it here.

Creative Commons License Content and images above by thelittlemisssecret is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

6 thoughts on “Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS)

  1. PCOS is a horrendously tough journey, and it’s even tougher that every doctor has a different idea of what causes it and how to treat it! Thank you for sharing your story and please continue to do so – it’s such a great comfort to read other women’s PCOS experiences and know that you aren’t alone 🙂

    1. PCOS makes us girls who have it “not normal” and it is not a well-known condition. It sucks. I’d be sharing more of my PCOS experiences soon!

  2. I just got diagnosed with PCOS this month and I’m trying to read up and connect with people who have it. I’m thinking of sharing my experiences once I’m more informed on how it shows up in other people as well, not just me. I agree with the above comment that every Doctor has their own belief on how it should be treated.

    1. Hi, you are not alone. There are a lot of us who suffers with this condition. I guess it is genetic. My sister also suffers it and we show different symptoms, I’ll be sharing that on my next blog. Anyway, did your doctor prescribed you with something?

      1. I’ll be sure to check it out. Like I said, I’m just happy it has a name and that someone took me serious. They did, a couple of things to help with the extreme anemia I had, as well as some other things the Doctor suggested which was a mix of over the counter and prescribed things.

Leave a Reply

