RECIPE: Buttered Vegetables


I was craving for veggies. However, these are the ingredients available at home. So I cooked one of the easiest and fastest recipe, which is buttered vegetables!

There are a lot of ways to cook this. And this is my version.

Below are the ingredients. This is good for 1-2 persons. Preparation time: ~10 minutes Cooking Time: 10 minutes

  • 1-1/2 diced onions
  • Thumb sized ginger
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 piece of batonnet cut carrots
  • 1/4 part chopped sayote
  • 2 leaves of Chinese Cabbage (in Philippines we call this Baguio Pechay)
  • Butter
  • Salt to taste

I boiled the carrots and sayote for 5 mins. While boiling the vegetables, I melted a tablespoon of butter and sauted the onions, garlic and ginger in a medium heat. After boiling the veggies, I transferred it into the cooking pan and I mixed it. If you think that the butter is not enough, you can always add more. In the last minute and 30 sec, I added the cabbage, stirred a little bit and I added a pinch of salt. Taste it, if it is okay then let it sit for at least 30 second and transfer it into your serving plate!

You can always add other ingredients and spices if it is still bland. Happy cooking!

2 thoughts on “RECIPE: Buttered Vegetables

Leave a Reply

